Scouting for Talent

A staggering 70 boys have been selected to join The Sharks Academy from the past four Easter Rugby Festivals hosted by Kearsney College - with three of these players also already having progressed to the SA Sevens and the Sharks senior squad.

Hans Scriba, managing director of the Sharks Academy, said the festival, which kicks off on Thursday 5 April at Kearsney College in Botha's Hill, has provided a quality base of top schoolboy players from which to recruit good players from throughout the country into the Academy.

"This ultimately boosts Sharks and SA rugby in the long term. Since the first Easter rugby festival at Kearsney College four years ago, the quality of the Academy's intake has improved significantly," he said.

"The four festivals have provided a massive boost - both in numbers as well as in the calibre of players - and the quality of schools now participating in this festival is world class."

The 2012 festival has attracted the strongest and most impressive line-up, with powerhouse teams from Grey College in Bloemfontein, Affies from Pretoria, Monument from Krugersdorp and EG Jansen from Boksburg; as well as Selborne, Dale and Queen's Colleges from the Eastern Cape. Paarl Gymnasium and Stellenbosch's Paul Roos represent the Western Cape; with Glenwood, festival newcomers Westville Boys' High and hosts Kearsney College from KZN.

Scriba said that several rugby pundits rated Grey College from Bloemfontein as arguably the best rugby school in the world, and there were several other participating schools not far behind.

Three scholarships, comprising a contract with The Sharks Academy and tuition bursary with Varsity College, will be awarded at the end of the festival. Talent scouts from The Sharks and The Sharks Academy watch all three play days (5, 7 and 9 April), to hand pick the cream for their next crop.

Players from the festival who have subsequently been selected to the Academy and then for The Sharks as well the Springbok Sevens team are S'bura Sithole from Queen's College in Queenstown, Lubabalo (Tera) Mtembu from Dale College in King William's Town and Paul Jordaan from Grey College in Bloemfontein.


08h30 Kearsney College v Selborne College
09h45 EG Jansen v Affies
11h00 Grey College Bloem v Paarl Gymnasium
12h15 Penzance Primary v Umhlali Preparatory
13h15 Dale College v Westville Boys'
14h30 Paul Roos v Queen's College
15h45 Glenwood v Monument

08h30 Monument v Paul Roos
09h45 Dale College v Glenwood
11h00 Grey College Bloem v Westville Boys'
12h15 Highbury Preparatory v Westville Senior Primary
13h15 Affies v Paarl Gymnasium
14h30 Selborne College v EG Jansen
15h45 Kearsney College v Queen's College

08h30 Dale College v Paul Roos
09h45 Queen's College v Glenwood
11h00 Westville Boys' v EG Jansen
12h15 Glenwood Preparatory v Merchiston Preparatory
13h15 Selborne College v Paarl Gymnasium
14h30 Kearsney College v Affies
15h45 Grey College Bloem v Monument
17h00 Awarding of Sharks Academy & Varsity College bursaries